About Us

Immersive Software Engineering is a unique collaboration between the academics of the University of Limerick and some of the most innovative companies in the world. Our team spans multiple disciplines, and we are supported by three boards that guide our work. The Scientific Advisory Board ensures teaching and research are performed to the highest international standard. 

Our Young Advisory Board exists as a group of mentors and advisors for our faculty and students. Our Industry Advisory Board advises the ISE team on the best connections of academia to industry. 

Everyone involved is passionate about making ISE a success by providing a delightful experience for our students.

Our team

Tiziana Margaria

Course Director and Co-Director of ISE. Tiziana is a professor of Software Systems at UL and Lero, the Irish Software Research Centre. She is passionate about Problem Based Learning and will lead the immersive experience on campus and in research.

Stephen Kinsella

ISE Co-Director. Stephen is an associate professor of economics at the Kemmy Business School. Stephen cares about rethinking the undergraduate experience and the relationship between UL and industry.

J.J. Collins

ISE Head of Residencies. J.J. lectures software architecture and machine learning in UL, and is deeply committed to the delivery of outstanding experiences for students and host companies in ISE.

Ian O’Keeffe

Senior Research Fellow. With 10 years academic research experience and having been a change agent in the IT industry for more than 20 years, Ian is passionate about working with people and technology, and helping them realise their ultimate potential.

Keith Kerley

Minister for Propaganda. Keith has 20 years experience in the graphic design, marketing and communication field. But his real passion is working with people, and will work closely with students and partners alike to give a true representation of their experience on the ISE programme.

Scientific Advisory Board

David Fisher, Prof. of Computer Science, Software Engineering at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, USA

Barry Floyd, Prof. of Information Systems and Management, California Polytechnic State University, USA

Mike Hinchey, Prof. of Software Engineering, University of Limerick, Ireland

Arend Rensink, ‪Prof. of Computer Science, University of Twente‬, The Netherlands

Young Advisory Board

Laura Sopegno, Aerospace Engineer

Eoin O’Brien, Founder and CTO, Tracworx

Barbara Steffen, Innovation & Transfer Manager at Centrum für Entrepreneurship & Transfer

Frederik Gossen, ML compiler engineer, Google

Industry Advisory Board

John Collison, President of Stripe, Chair of Industry Advisory Board

Des Traynor, Chief Strategy Officer, Intercom

Patricia Scanlon, Executive Chair of Soapbox Labs

Barry Lunn, CEO, Provizio

Bobby Healy, CEO, Manna Aero

Taran Lent, Vice President, Product Development, Transact Campus

Padraig Fitzgerald, Senior R&D Director, Site Leader, Becton Dickinson (BD)

Michael Keane, Process Development Director, Boston Scientific 

Anthony Quigney, Senior Director Customer Solution Centers, Dell

Martin Cotter, VP, Solutions & Digital Platforms at Analog Devices 

John Herlihy, Chairman, Carne Group Financial Services

”The ISE program focuses on a challenging and innovative methodology, allowing students to acquire the necessary skills for their future career through an enriching experience.”

Laura Sopegno

Aerospace Engineer

“ISE is the first computer science program combining the innovative mind-set with the necessary skills to shape the future.”

Barbara Steffen

Innovation & Transfer Manager at Centrum für Entrepreneurship & Transfer

By submitting your email, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy